Somewhere Out There

Well, you have to start somewhere, so here I go. This is my journey to try to rid my life of some of the negative and worldly things that consume it. When I was living in Wyoming I had a preview of what this could be like. I was reading Christian Fiction books, (one which was my mom’s, we’ll talk about that later) listening to positive music, and not watching things that had a worldly perspective. I felt so much happier and less stressed in general. Here I am again, and I am going to try to get back to that. I know that some of the things I am going to want to give up, are going to be hard for my husband and me, that is why I know this is not going to be an instant fix, this will take time, years maybe, but I know that God will be with me every step of the way. I am currently trying to go through our DVD collection, I think Family Guy is going to be one of those things that it will take my husband a while before he is ready to let go of, if ever. He is starting to take baby steps with me though which is all I can ask for.

I know I also need to work more on setting aside time for the Lord everyday. If I have at least one conversation with him a day, I know that my day would just be that much better. A friend of mine once told me that God is a Hopeful Romantic. I think that that is such a perfect way to think of Him. No matter how much we turn away from Him, or don’t listen to Him, He is still there showing us His love. I am going to try to notice each day, something that He does, just to make me smile.

One of the things that really inspired me to start this was my mom. I just finished reading her second book, and I have to say, sometimes I wish life weren’t so complicated. I wish it was more like ‘back in the day.’ Things were simpler then to an extent. I walked away from her book feeling inspired and wanting more. Her book is a Christian Historical Fiction, and you can’t help but walk away from it knowing how much God loves you and that everything that happens in our lives is according to His plan, even when we can’t see it.

About Dwell in Safety

I am happily married to the Love of my Life. I am mostly a stay at home spouse. This is my journey of trying to clear my life of the negative things. I have found that when you surround yourself with positive things of Christ, then your whole outlook is better. The world makes it hard, but with His help I can do all things!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

